Jump to content


The association considers itself to be a strategy committee for TU Dresden‘s University Executive Board as well as for the city of Dresden as a science hub. Directors of the research and cultural institutions meet quarterly to discuss central research topics.

The Board consists of elected members of each partner, i.e. Max Planck, Fraunhofer and Leibniz Institutes, the Helmholtz institutions, the state institutions and cultural partners, as well as the Board of Directors and the office. Currently these are:

Prof. Dr. Claudia Felser

Head of the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids

© Sven Döring

Prof. Dr. Wieland Huttner

Speaker of SAC I and former director at the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

© René Jungnickel

Prof. Dr. Gerd Kempermann

Head of the German Centre for Neurodegenerative Diseases in the Helmholtz Association, Dresden


Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Roland Sauerbrey

Scientific Director of the Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

© André Wirsig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christoph Leyens

Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology IWS and member of the Speaker’s Council of SAC III

© Fraunhofer IWS

Prof. Hubert Karl Lakner

Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems IPMS

© Fraunhofer IPMS

@ Jörg Simanowski

Prof. Dr. Brigitte Voit

Scientific Director of the Leibniz Institute of Polymer Research Member of the SAC III Speakers’ Council and Chairperson of the Board

© Leibniz IPF

Prof. Dr. Bernd Büchner

Director of the Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research

© Leibniz IFW

Prof. Dr. med. D. Michael Albrecht

Chief Medical Officer of the University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus


Prof. Dr. med. Heinz Reichmann

Director of the University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus



Prof. Dr. Marion Ackermann

Director General of the Dresden State Art Collections


Dr. Achim Bonte

General Director of the SLUB

© R. Ahlers-Bergner

Support and requests to:

Romy Conrad
Dipl.-Verw.-Betriebsw. (VWA)

Tel.: +49 351 463 43178

E-Mail: geschaeftsstelle(at)dresden-concept.de

© R. Jungnickel