Jump to content

Perspectives on Materiality in Art & Design

The SAN IV has been looking at the interplay between state-of-the-art technologies with art and design since November 2018. Researchers are investigating how modern analytical methods can help with the digitisation of art objects, the significance of materials in the current discourse of restoration and conservation as well as design and art, and how artistically creative approaches can be used in the natural and engineering sciences.

Andreas Rost

Within working groups, the topics of the SANs are discussed in an interdisciplinary manner:

Contact Person:

Dr. Michael Mäder (SKD)

René Jungnickel

Contact Person:

Dipl.-Ing. Lena Herlitzius,

DRESDEN-concept Advisor to the Rectorial Board and Contact Person for the Scientific Area Networks

Phone 0351 463-40427
lena.herlitzius[at]tu-dresden.de

Kick-off event on 22.11.2018 at the Dresden University of Fine Arts

How do modern methods of analysing help in the digitalisation of art objects and what significance do materials have in the current discourse of restoration and conservation as well as design and art? Presenters from the various DRESDEN-concept institutions asked themselves these and other questions during the Kick-off event. The Scientific Area Network took place in the premises of the Hochschule für bildende Künste (HfBK) on November 22, 2018.
Prof. Christian Sery from the HfBK and Prof. Hans Müller-Steinhagen (Rector of the TU Dresden and Chairman of the Board of DRESDEN-concept) welcomed the attendees before Prof. Ludwig Schultz (Head of DRESDEN-concept) explained the “rules of the game” of the SAN.

The first panel was dedicated to the topic “Digital Collection of Cultural Heritage” and was introduced with a lecture by the HfBK. Members of the SLUB, the TU Dresden and the State Office of Archaeology examined this topic from different perspectives. Among others, the projects “arthistoricum.net”, the “Big Data Time Machine” and “Saxorum” were discussed.

After the first networking session the second panel started, which focused on “Restoration and Conservation of Materiality and Cultural Heritage”. Cellulose acetates, carbon concrete or wood preservation measures played a role in this panel, with which scientists from the German Hygiene Museum Dresden (DHMD), the Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology (Fraunhofer IWS), the TU Dresden and the HfBK, among others, are working.

The panel also gave the participants the opportunity to exchange ideas. A higher number of breaks was introduced from the experience of the last SANs. “Virtuality and reality”, for example in the field of virtual reality or in connection with the representation of materials, played a role in the third panel.

Take a look at the program to get to know the variety of the Kick-off: Programm_SAN4_Art&Design

Zum Inhalt springen

Perspektiven der Materialität in Kunst und Design

Einen Blick auf die Verschränkung von modernsten Technologien mit Kunst und Design ermöglicht das SAN IV. Es geht Fragen nach, wie moderne Analyseverfahren bei der Digitalisierung von Kunstgegenständen helfen, welche Bedeutung Materialien im aktuellen Diskurs der Restaurierung und Konservierung sowie Design und Kunst haben oder wie künstlerisch kreative Ansätze in den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften genutzt werden können.

Andreas Rost

Innerhalb von Arbeitsgruppen werden die Themen der SANs interdisziplinär besprochen:

Ansprechperson:

Dr. Michael Mäder (SKD)

René Jungnickel

Kontaktperson

Dipl.-Ing. Lena Herlitzius,

Referentin der TU Dresden für DRESDEN-concept und Ansprechpartnerin für die Scientific Area Networks

Tel. 0351 463-40427
lena.herlitzius[at]tu-dresden.de

Kick-Off-Event am 22.11.2018 an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden

Wie helfen moderne Analyseverfahren bei der Digitalisierung von Kunstgegenständen und welche Bedeutung haben Materialien im aktuellen Diskurs der Restaurierung und Konservierung sowie Design und Kunst? Vortragende aus den verschiedenen DRESDEN-concept Einrichtungen stellten sich diesen und anderen Fragen während des Kick-Offs. Das Scientific Area Network fand in den Räumlichkeiten der Hochschule für bildende Künste (HfBK) am 22.November 2018 statt.

Prof. Christian Sery von der HfBK und Prof. Hans Müller-Steinhagen (Rektor der TU Dresden und Vorstandsvorsitzender von DRESDEN-concept)  begrüßten die Anwesenden, bevor Prof. Ludwig Schultz (Geschäftsstellenleiter von DRESDEN-concept) die „Spielregeln“ des SANs erläuterte.

Das erste Panel widmete sich dem Thema „Digitale Sammlung von Kulturgut“ und wurde mit einem Vortrag der HfBK eingeleitet. Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Staats-, Landes- und Universitätsbibliothek (SLUB), der TU Dresden und des Landesamtes für Archäologie beleuchteten dieses Thema aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven. Zur Sprache kamen unter anderem die Projekte „arthistoricum.net“, die „Big Data Time Maschine“ und „Saxorum“.

Nach einer ersten Networking Session in lockerer Atmosphäre begann das zweite Panel, das die „Restauration und die Konservierung von Materialität und Kulturgut“ in den Fokus nahm. In diesem spielten Zellulose Acetate, Carbonbeton oder Holzerhaltungsmaßnahmen eine Rolle, mit denen sich unter anderem Wissenschaftler aus dem Deutschen Hygiene-Museum Dresden (DHMD), dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik (Fraunhofer IWS), der TU Dresden und der HfBK beschäftigen.

Auch nach diesem Panel erhielten die Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit sich auszutauschen. Eine höhere Anzahl der Pausen wurde aus der Erfahrung der letzten SANs eingeführt. „Virtualität und Realität“ etwa im Bereich der Virtual Reality oder im Zusammenhang mit der Darstellung von Materialien spielten im dritten Panel eine Rolle.

Schauen Sie sich das Programm an, um die Vielfalt des Kick-Offs kennenzulernen:Programm_SAN4_Art&Design