Jump to content

DRESDEN-concept Research Groups

DRESDEN-concept (DDc) aims to further increase the attractiveness of Dresden as a science location for excellent independent early-career scientists. The close cooperation between the DDc partner institutions and the manifold synergies within the research alliance offer young researchers an excellent environment and open up attractive career paths.

In the DRESDEN-concept Research Groups, outstanding young scientists are offered an optimal framework for establishing their own working group. The research groups address innovative research topics and can draw on the expertise of two or more DDc partner institutions, which jointly support the DDc Research Group.

What are the criteria for establishing a DDc Research Group?

  • The group leader of a DDc Research Group has an international reputation in the respective field, e.g. in the form of publications in high-ranking journals or monographs, invitations to give lectures, successful acquisition of projects or patents. Experience in successfully supervising students is desired.
  • In agreement with the DDc Executive Board, a cooperation agreement is to be concluded between the participating DDc member institutions. This agreement defines the name of the DDc Research Group, confirms its independence and regulates its equal funding over a period of at least four years.
  • Group leaders of DDc Research Groups are involved in the DRESDEN-concept network, e.g. in the form of active participation in a Scientific Area Committee (SAC) or in DDc events.

What are the advantages of establishing a DDc Research Group?

DDc Research Groups are an important element of intensive networking benefit and from the professional expertise and infrastructure of the DDc supporting institutions and their partners within the network. The presentation of the DDc Research Groups on the websites of the participating DDc partners and of DRESDEN-concept, the regular presentation of their activities in the DDc Board and the active participation in shaping the DDc research agenda give the DDc Research Groups an enormous visibility. The group leaders of DDc Research Groups are, of course, invited to all events organized or co-organized by DDc. Furthermore, DDc Research Groups receive tailor-made offers, e.g. consulting and support services for the professionalization of their research data management or for the professionalization of their target group-oriented science communication.

Funding measure for the support of DRESDEN-concept Research Groups

As part of the EXU-measure “DRESDEN-concept Science and Innovation Campus”, group leaders of DRESDEN-concept Research Groups can make use of a number of offers, e.g. in the form of consulting and support services for the professionalization of research data management or the professionalization of their target group-specific science communication.

In addition, funding of a doctoral position for a duration of 1-3 years and / or consumables up to 20 K Euro per year is available. Funding is awarded based on needs in a competitive selection process.

The group leaders of DDc Research Groups are eligible to apply. In a written application (approx. 1-2 pages) they must set out:

1. the specific goal to be achieved by the funding measure;
2. the scope and desired form of support;
3. a realistic timetable for achieving the desired goal;
4. the planned form of engagement of the DDc Research Group for the DRESDEN-concept Alliance;
5. the need for support in setting up a research data management system, if applicable;
6. the need for support in science communication, if applicable.

any time at the DDc office: geschaeftsstelle@dresden-concept.de

  • Applications for funding can be submitted to the DDc office at any time.
    Please enclose a copy of the cooperation agreement of the DDc partner institutions involved.
  • Forwarding of the application, supplemented by a statement of the DDc office, to the DDc board.
  • Decision on the funding application by the DDc Board of Directors two months after submission of the application, at the latest.

Zum Inhalt springen

DRESDEN-concept Research Groups

DRESDEN-concept (DDc) setzt sich zum Ziel, die Attraktivität des Wissenschaftsstandorts Dresden für exzellente unabhängige Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen weiter zu erhöhen. Die enge Kooperation zwischen DDc Partnereinrichtungen und die vielfältigen Synergien innerhalb der Forschungsallianz bieten Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen ein hervorragendes Umfeld und eröffnen attraktive Karrierewege.

In Form von DDc Research Groups wird herausragenden Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen ein optimaler Rahmen zur Etablierung einer eigenen Arbeitsgruppe geboten. Die Arbeitsgruppen adressieren innovative Forschungsthemen und können dabei auf die Expertise von zwei oder mehreren DDc Partnereinrichtungen zurückgreifen, welche die DDc Research Group gemeinsam tragen.

Welche Kriterien müssen für die Einrichtung einer DDc Research Group erfüllt sein?

  • Der/die Leiter:in einer DDc Research Group ist im jeweiligen Fachgebiet international ausgewiesen, z.B. in Form von Publikationen in hochrangigen Zeitschriften oder Monographien, Einladungen zu Vorträgen, erfolgreicher Einwerbung von Projekten oder Patenten. Erfahrung in der erfolgreichen Betreuung von Studierenden sind vorteilhaft.
  • Im Einvernehmen mit dem DDc Vorstand ist zwischen den beteiligten DDc-Mitgliedseinrichtungen ein Kooperationsvertrag abzuschließen. In diesem werden die Bezeichnung der Nachwuchsforschergruppe festgelegt, ihre Unabhängigkeit bestätigt und ihre paritätische Finanzierung über einen Zeitraum von mindestens vier Jahren geregelt.
  • Leiter:innen von DDc Research Groups engagieren sich im DRESDEN-concept Verbund, beispielsweise in Form der aktiven Mitgestaltung eines fachlich passenden Scientific Area Committees (SACs) oder bei DDc Veranstaltungen.

Mit welchen Vorteilen ist die Einrichtung einer DDc Research Group verbunden?

DDc Research Groups profitieren als wichtiges Element der intensiven Vernetzung von der fachlichen Expertise und der Infrastruktur der DDc Trägereinrichtungen und deren Partner im Verbund. Durch die Präsentation der Arbeitsgruppen auf den Webseiten der beteiligten DDc Partner und von DRESDEN-concept, durch die regelmäßige Vorstellung der eigenen Aktivitäten im DDc Board und die aktive Mitgestaltung der DDc Forschungsagenda gewinnen die DDc Research Groups darüber hinaus enorm an Visibilität. Die Leiter:innen von DDc Research Groups werden selbstverständlich zu allen von DDc (mit)organisierten Veranstaltungen eingeladen. Des Weiteren erhalten DDc Research Groups maßgeschneiderte Angebote, z.B. in Form von Beratungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen zur Professionalisierung ihres Forschungsdatenmanagements oder zur Professionalisierung ihrer zielgruppengerechten Wissenschaftskommunikation.

Fördermaßnahme zur Unterstützung von DRESDEN-concept Research Groups

Leiter:innen von DRESDEN-concept Research Groups erhalten im Rahmen der EXU-Maßnahme „DRESDEN-concept Science and Innovation Campus“ eine Reihe von Angeboten, z.B. in Form von Beratungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen zur Professionalisierung des Forschungsdatenmanagements oder zur Professionalisierung ihrer zielgruppenspezifischen Wissenschaftskommunikation.

Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit einer Förderung in Form einer Doktorandenstelle mit einer Laufzeit von 1-3 Jahren und / oder von Sachmitteln in Höhe von max. 20 T Euro/a. Die Vergabe erfolgt i.d.R. bedarfsabhängig in einem kompetitiven Auswahlverfahren.

Antragsberechtigt sind die Leiter:innen von DDc Research Groups.

In einem schriftlichen Antrag (ca. 1-2 Seiten) legen sie dar:
1. das spezielle Ziel, das mit der Fördermaßnahme erreicht werden soll;
2. der Umfang und die gewünschte Form der Unterstützung;
3. einen realistischen Zeitplan zur Erreichung des angestrebten Ziels;
4. die geplante Form des Engagements der DDc Research Group für die DRESDEN-concept Allianz;
5. ggf. Unterstützungsbedarf beim Aufbau eines Forschungsdatenmanagements;
6. ggf. Unterstützungsbedarf beim Thema Wissenschaftskommunikation.

 

jederzeit bei der DDc-Geschäftsstelle: geschaeftsstelle@dresden-concept.de

  • Förderanträge können jederzeit bei der DDc-Geschäftsstelle eingereicht werden (bitte Kopie des Kooperationsvertrags der beteiligten DDc Partnereinrichtungen beilegen!).
  • Weiterleitung des Antrags, ergänzt um eine Stellungnahme der DDc-Geschäftsstelle, an den DDc-Vorstand.
  • Entscheidung über den Förderantrag durch den DDc-Vorstand spätestens zwei Monate nach Einreichung des Förderantrags.